By Your Side by Kasie West | Book Review

By Your Side by Kasie West | Book ReviewBy Your Side by Kasie West
Published by HarperTeen on January 31st 2017
Genres: Contemporary, Love & Romance
Pages: 346
Format: Ebook
Buy on AmazonBuy on Bol.comBuy on Book Depository
Goodreads
four-half-stars

In this irresistible story, Kasie West explores the timeless question of what to do when you fall for the person you least expect. Witty and romantic, this paperback original from a fan favorite is perfect for fans of Stephanie Perkins and Morgan Matson.

When Autumn Collins finds herself accidentally locked in the library for an entire weekend, she doesn’t think things could get any worse. But that’s before she realizes that Dax Miller is locked in with her. Autumn doesn’t know much about Dax except that he’s trouble. Between the rumors about the fight he was in (and that brief stint in juvie that followed it) and his reputation as a loner, he’s not exactly the ideal person to be stuck with. Still, she just keeps reminding herself that it is only a matter of time before Jeff, her almost-boyfriend, realizes he left her in the library and comes to rescue her.

Only he doesn’t come. No one does.

Instead it becomes clear that Autumn is going to have to spend the next couple of days living off vending-machine food and making conversation with a boy who clearly wants nothing to do with her. Except there is more to Dax than meets the eye. As he and Autumn first grudgingly, and then not so grudgingly, open up to each other, Autumn is struck by their surprising connection. But can their feelings for each other survive once the weekend is over and Autumn’s old life, and old love interest, threaten to pull her from Dax’s side?

What I thoughtBy Your Side is pure sweetness! Kasie West has once again written an outstanding and magical love story! I do have to admit that I was a bit skeptic at first. Going into this story I expected it to be a tad surrealistic, because how on earth would NO ONE realize that someone (beloved daughter, best friend, whatever) was missing. The whole concept just seemed a little surreal to me. BUT: I should have known not to worry because we’re talking about Kasie West here: queen of contemporary writing!

By Your Side starts off incredibly cute (and a bit of a cliché): boy and girl get trapped in a library for three days in the middle of winter. Initially, they don’t really want anything to do with each other, but then, unavoidably, feelings slowly start blooming between them. And that’s where the cliche’s end. Which, obviously, I am not going to tell you anything about because I don’t want to spoil anything for you.

I loved the slowly blooming romance between the two and you can’t help but root for them along the way. Kasie West takes it slow and it gives Autumn and Dax a chance to fall in love with each other beyond the physical attraction. There’s fluff, there’s adorableness, there are moments to swoon at. Totally loved Autumn and Dax together.

Now the big question: does By Your Side go beyond the romance? Does it have depth? I am so glad you asked: YES, It does! Autumn suffers from anxiety attacks and Kasie West has tackled this disorder so well, while still sticking to the light and fluffy feeling that you expect from any contemporary read. I won’t share too much about Dax because I think telling you too much will become spoiler-y. I promise you though that his character has plenty of depth as well. Final verdict IRISJEXX!

By Your Side is a fluffy read with a deeper underlying meaning to it. Highly recommend this read to anyone that wants a cute and fluffy read, but wants a little something ‘more’ added to the story.

Pivot Point by Kasie West | Book Review

Pivot Point by Kasie West | Book Review

Pivot Point by Kasie West | Book ReviewPivot Point by Kasie West
Series: Pivot Point #1
Published by HarperTeen on February 12th 2013
Genres: Fantasy & Magic
Pages: 343
Format: Paperback
Goodreads
five-stars

Addison Coleman’s life is one big “What if?” As a Searcher, whenever Addie is faced with a choice, she can look into the future and see both outcomes. It’s the ultimate insurance plan against disaster. Or so she thought. When Addie’s parents ambush her with the news of their divorce, she has to pick who she wants to live with—her father, who is leaving the paranormal compound to live among the “Norms,” or her mother, who is staying in the life Addie has always known. Addie loves her life just as it is, so her answer should be easy. One Search six weeks into the future proves it’s not.

In one potential future, Addie is adjusting to life outside the Compound as the new girl in a Norm high school where she meets Trevor, a cute, sensitive artist who understands her. In the other path, Addie is being pursued by the hottest guy in school—but she never wanted to be a quarterback’s girlfriend. When Addie’s father is asked to consult on a murder in the Compound, she’s unwittingly drawn into a dangerous game that threatens everything she holds dear. With love and loss in both lives, it all comes down to which reality she’s willing to live through . . . and who she can’t live without.

What I thought NEW

“I don’t care when people think I’m an antisocial, controlling bookworm because that’s what I am. It’s when they interpret me wrong that I have a problem.”  

― Kasie West, Pivot Point    

This book was absolutely genius! There’s really no other way to describe it. After reading a few books that I didn’t really like, you can’t imagine the relief of reading a book like Pivot Point. A suspenseful and highly original read that I could not put down until I’d finished it.

The premise of this book was so original. There’s Two paths – two highly different futures – playing out simultaneously. They play out simultaneously, but overlap every now and then. Both paths have similar elements, there’s actually some events that happen in both futures! Very similar, but slightly different at the same time. And the structure… Brilliant! I’ve never read anything like it.

Also, this book was very character-driven. Amazing character building, with a very likable protagonist. Addie is hard not to like. She’s, by her own saying, an “antisocial, controlling bookworm.” Really, what’s not to like? A girl after our own heart right? She’s fun, has a thing for organisation, and has a subtle and witty humour. Actually, throw subtle out of the window, she’s absolutely hilarious! Hilarious, without it coming across as forced. It just flowed and fitted her character perfectly!

Those two paths I’ve been talking about, lead to TWO different love interests! And the best part is, its no love-triangle! Nope, its two different futures and its just so absolutely awesome. I was torn between the two, they are opposites but equally attractive. Though as the book progressed, it wasn’t hard to pick a side *cough* Trevor *cough.* I love how Addie and Trevor’s relationship grows from a pretty awesome friendship into something more (even more awesome!). It was sweet, slow-building, and sweet with a cherry on top. I want a Trevor myself… no scratch that, I want Trevor!

Great dialogue! Dialogue that had me laughing and giggling and laughing out loud and squealing.

Then, the ending, was very satisfying! A bit heart-breaking, but every bit of great like the rest of the story, and imagine my luck and earth-shattering happiness when I found out that the sequel Split Second releases TOMORROW! Can we get a happy dance? I am ordering it right NOW! I really don’t know what to expect. I can only hope, but I literally don’t know what to expect and I just love the feeling and can’t wait to get my hands on that sequel!

“One person can’t change the future. Do you know how many people and things are involved in every major event that happens? Sure, you might be able to change some of the minor aspects of a day, but ultimately things that are going to happen, if you go along a certain path, do happen.”

― Kasie West, Pivot Point    

*Tackles and hugs Kim* for making this February’s Epic Rec!