The One by Kiera Cass | Book Review

The One by Kiera Cass | Book Review

The One by Kiera Cass | Book ReviewThe One by Kiera Cass
Series: The Selection #3
Published by Harper Collins Children's Books on June 5th 2014
Genres: Dystopian, Love & Romance
Pages: 323
Format: Hardcover
Goodreads
five-stars

THE SELECTION changed the lives of thirty-five girls forever. Now, only one will claim Prince Maxon’s heart…

It’s swoon meets the Hunger Games in the final instalment of THE SELECTION trilogy!

For the four girls who remain at the palace, the friendships they’ve formed, rivalries they’ve struggled with and dangers they’ve faced have bound them to each other for the rest of their lives.

Now, the time has come for one winner to be chosen.

America never dreamed she would find herself anywhere close to the crown – or to Prince Maxon’s heart. But as the competition approaches its end and the threats outside the palace walls grow more vicious, America realises just how much she stands to lose – and how hard she’ll have to fight for the future she wants.

The breathtaking finale to THE SELECTION trilogy will make you swoon!

What I thought NEWAfter the Elite I couldn’t wait to read the One, then somehow after a long year of waiting, the book arrived on my doorstep and remained unread for almost two whole months! Which -if I do say so myself- is unacceptable. I think the hype surrounding the book scared me off. I avoided spoilers (which meant avoiding Twitter and Facebook for a while) and ended up not reading the book myself, until now.

The story flowed perfectly. Questions that I carried with me since the first book finally got answered. It was fast-paced, action filled, swoon worthy, and at times heart wrenching.

I don’t think I can say much about the characters that I haven’t said before already. America Singer is still the stubborn, feisty, and brave girl we met in the first book. But this book gave a new meaning to the word fierce. She was fierce, stands up for herself, and finally figures out what she wants. Maxon is still the guy that manages to makes me swoon whenever he made and appearance in the book (which was a lot!). And he as well grows more throughout the book. They were a bit frustrating at times though… View Spoiler » but I guess I can deal with that, after all, we’re all human and nobody’s perfect.

The one thing that I loved above all about the characters was the depth added to the other girls competing in the Selection. The remaining girls become closer, they bond, and become friends, which makes that we get to know more about them. The scenes involving all the girls together were so much fun to read and probably (alongside some scenes between Maxon and America) some of my favourite in the book.

Those last chapters were killing, absolutely killing, and it made me love the book even more. I don’t know how I expected the book to end, but of all the endings I’d imagined, this one never crossed my mind. I won’t spoil the ending for you, so if you want to know what I’m talking about, get yourself a copy and find out! It was every bit the conclusion to this series that I could’ve hoped for! Questions were answered, the characters were as good (if not better) than before, and the romance was adorable and as swoon-worthy as ever. Loved it!

The One by Kiera Cass | Book Review

Solitaire by Alice Oseman | Book Review

I received this book for free from the Publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Solitaire by Alice Oseman | Book ReviewSolitaire by Alice Oseman
Published by Harper Collins Children's Books on July 31st 2014
Genres: Contemporary
Pages: 400
Format: ARC
Source: the Publisher
Goodreads
four-half-stars

In case you’re wondering, this is not a love story.

My name is Tori Spring. I like to sleep and I like to blog. Last year – before all that stuff with Charlie and before I had to face the harsh realities of A-Levels and university applications and the fact that one day I really will have to start talking to people – I had friends. Things were very different, I guess, but that’s all over now.

Now there’s Solitaire. And Michael Holden.

I don’t know what Solitaire are trying to do, and I don’t care about Michael Holden.

I really don’t.

This incredible debut novel by outstanding young author Alice Oseman is perfect for fans of John Green, Rainbow Rowell and all unflinchingly honest writers.

What I thought NEW

I have been wanting to read Solitaire for the longest time, and when I came face to face with a review copy at YALC, I couldn’t help myself but start reading immediately. No kidding, I got about halfway through the book at the event itself.

It was such a good read! Filled tons of fandom references (that a booklover can’t help but love!) and overall just a great portrayal of teenage life. Solitaire covered the confusing turbulence of adolescence perfectly with wit, cynicism, and humour. It’s a story that many teenagers will be able to relate to, as well as adults, because it’s written that realistically.

Tori, the main protagonist, was a character that portrays exactly what it feels to be a teenager, the confusing feelings and the insecurities. Her feelings were so real to me, reading from her perspective was sometimes scary, because as a reader I noticed she was heading the wrong way, but also knew that Tori herself did not see it that way. View Spoiler » The story did not only offer a great insight of what it is to be a teenager, but also offers a good portrayal of teenage depression.

Then Michael Holden, the male protagonist in Solitaire, who was the opposite of Tori. Another great character, whom I do not want to reveal to much about. But what I love most about this book and the characters, is that it really isn’t just a love story. It’s a story about living life, living life and finding the people you care about.

It’s the writing is that is real, and the emotions that are real, and the characters that portray what it feels like as a teenager in such a realistic way. It’s a great story. Not perfect, but absolutely realistic and such a great read! What I really want to say is, go read Solitaire, because it is a pretty awesome (and although I’ve been using this word too much in this review: realistic) book!